Mommy Dearest

I have been blessed with a life filled with strong women in my family, as mentors and bosses, and now some of my greatest peers. These women have been strong on many levels. They have offered me wisdom and a shoulder to cry on in my greatest times of need.

My mother is beyond one of the most amazing among them. At my age she had three six-year-old children and an eight-year-old. My father worked multiple jobs and she stayed at home to care for us. I know my own strong will and complications could have only made her job harder. It has come to my realization on this Mother’s Day that I could not be a mother, at least not at this age and not in the same way my mother has been.   

Here are some things my mother has done for me that I am not sure I could do and I would like to thank her.

Heart – For loving me unconditionally in everything I have done. You have been my rock and my cheerleader in my toughest and most triumphant times. You have caught me so many times when I have fallen, let me cry and gave me the shoes to get back on my feet again.

Stomach –   I can only imagine the gross things that you had to clean  as I grew up. The nights when I was sick and the days when I played to rough and cut myself. I cannot even stand the sight of spit-up or a dirty diaper or even a burn on your hand as an adult, clearly you have a stomach that is made of steel.

Brain – You have wisdom that is immeasurable. You have remembered times of hurt that I have forgotten, as if you cleared my memory of those moments. You are also one of the most intelligent women I know when it comes to “adulting”.

 

Thank you to all the mothers that have given so much to do the job they do in loving and caring for your little ones. I have some of the most adorable munchkins in my life and for now I am just as happy to dote on them and send them back to their parents.

Happy Mother’s Day!

One thought on “Mommy Dearest

Leave a comment